PixelStudio (Java)

PixelStudio is a graphic editor for creating and editing graphics/pictures, especially designed for PixelArt. The creation of new digital images is the main purpose of PixelStudio. It should help artists to pixel. Many pixel artists still use MS Paint or similar simple applications to pixel. PixelStudio should change this!
The original project was started in 2005. It was implemented in C++ and WinGDI. Therefore, it is platform dependent on Microsoft Windows. You can read more about the older project on the project page of PixelStudio (C++).
After one year I have learned a lot, therefore I decided to reengineer PixelStudio in a professional way. The C++ Version was error-prone and difficult to debug. Towards the end of the year 2006 I finally decided to develop PixelStudio in Java. Without much effort, the application would become platform independent and more stable.

Status

The university studies and prioritizing another project forced me to let this project slide. However, the development on this project is not fully stopped. By the way, requests from all over the world persuaded me not to stop this project.

Features Developed so Far

Pictures are far more expressive than words: at the end of this page you will find screenshots.

Rough TODO-list


Contributors

KaraHead was there when the Java project was initiated. His job consisted of the development of the graphical user interface in Java (Swing). Unfortunately, he had to leave very early: he had to gave up the time intensive hobby programming for his main job. That is why I took over his tasks as well.
The present PixelStudio logo and some icons used in PixelStudio are made by DayDream (Christian Hildenbrand).

Screenshots

Here are some screenshots of the current PixelStudio Java version:
Click on a picture to enlarge.

PixelStudio (Java)

PixelStudio ist eine Grafikanwendung speziell für PixelArt. Bei PixelStudio steht das Erstellen von neuen digitalen Bildern im Vordergrund. Es soll Künstlern beim sogenannten pixeln helfen. Viele PixelArtisten benutzen heute immernoch MS Paint oder ähnliche einfache Programme zum pixeln. PixelStudio soll dies ändern!
Das ursprüngliche Projekt startete ungefähr im Jahre 2005. Es wurde in C++ und WinGDI implementiert. Aus diesem Grund ist es auch nur auf Windows lauffähig. Mehr dazu auf der Projektseite von PixelStudio (C++).
Nach einem Jahr hatte ich sehr viel dazu gelernt, weshalb ich mich dann entschied PixelStudio auf professioneller Weise neu zu entwickeln. Die C++ Version war fehleranfällig und schwer zu debuggen. Ende 2006 entschied ich mich dann PixelStudio neu in Java zu programmieren. Damit wäre PixelStudio problemlos plattformunabhängig und stabiler zugleich.

Status

Wegen meinem Studium an der Universität und dem Priorisieren eines anderen Projektes musste ich PixelStudio vernachlässigen. Die Entwicklung steht jedoch nicht gänzlich still. Anfragen aus aller Welt motivierten mich außerdem dazu das Projekt nicht stillzulegen.

Bisher entwickelte Features

Am Ende dieser Seite verdeutlichen einige Screenshots die meisten Features.

Grobe TODO-Liste


Mitwirkende

KaraHead war bei dem Start dabei und übernahm die Entwicklung der grafischen Oberfläche in Java (Swing). Leider musste er sehr früh aussteigen: Er musste für seine Haupttätigkeit leider das zeitintensive Hobby-Programmieren aufgeben. Damit übernahm ich auch seine Aufgaben komplett.
Das aktuelle PixelStudio Logo und einige Icons die in PixelStudio benutzt werden sind von DayDream (Christian Hildenbrand).

Screenshots

Hier einige Screenshots von der aktuellen PixelStudio Java Version:
Zum vergrößern bitte auf das jeweilige Bild klicken.